Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Betty Buzz

Old 04-13-2011   #1
Steamboat Springs, Colorado

Hi all, I am new to this sport, my husband and I have a raft, but I am really interested in learning to kayak. I am hoping for some good suggestions! I am 5' 105lbs. I am looking for something that I could learn to play around in as well as run rivers in! I have been looking at getting the Jackson fun 2, but not settled yet, as I think I might be to small for it?? Also I am looking for some family rafters that like to get out on the river with their kiddo's I have three kids, two boys one 7 and the other 4 and I have a little girl who is 16 months!
Thanks for any help!

Svadhisthana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011   #2
Cpt. No Scout
In a Van, Down By the River
Paddling Since: 91
I like that youre looking to buy a product make in the good old us of a. The fun2 would make a fine choice. A fun3 would be easier to learn in and resale. If your not totally into surfing I'd think about a Hero. They front surf and spin real nice plus they are very stable and run ANYTHING well. Also, the resale appeal is better with the "standard" size models. Its just harder to move a Little Hero or Super Hero vs a std hero. Samething goes for the funs. ppl buy the fun1 for kids. But the fun2 seems to get skipped for the fun3 and the 4fun is a bit on the big side. I boat a Hero on everything.. except when surfing. Then I pull out the play boat. (project 52) I just think the Hero is an awsome boat that most ppl can jump in and have a good time. enjoy

idahofloater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011   #3
Paddling Since: 1993
My wife is your size and she paddles the 2 fun and really likes it. Sure its a bit big for flatwater cartwheels but as a river running playboat, its probably the best.
mrekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011   #4
Thank you!!
Old 04-14-2011   #5
Gunnison, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2011