Industry Jobs
Place an Ad

Discussion Closed

Old 04-08-2012   #1
swimming

Vancouver, Washington
Paddling Since: 1990
Hello From Washington

Just wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I just found the forum and I have spent a few days browsing and was stoked to find an active community of river rats. I found the site while researching reflipping techniques as I have a new cat and she is heavy when loaded. My biggest fear of flipping is getting her righted again as I often do solo trips.

I have been rafting since 1990 and have also been a passenger with a couple of commercial trips. Along with rafting, I am a semi professional snowboarder and back country splitboarding instructor/guide. I am also an admin of the largest snowboarding forum on the net. I love backpacking and also hold a private pilot`s license with an instrument rating. As my friends tell me, I just have too many hobbies to have time for a job which happens to be a local tanker truck driver. Still waiting for that winning Powerball ticket though.

I have 2 rigs that I currently use. One is a solo 10 foot cat with full rocker tubes and I just sold my old faithful 14 foot Momentum bucket boat last year and bought a 14 foot cat with 26 inch Odyssey tubes and a custom built frame.

My "go-to" river of choice is the Deschutes in central Oregon and I run both the Warm Springs to Sandy Beach and the Buck Hollow to Heritage Landing sections. Early season, I run the John Day in Eastern Oregon and the Klickitat in southwest Washington. Hoping to get on the lower Salmon and the Snake this fall as well as the Rogue River in southwest Oregon.