Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Other Chatter > Winter Buzz

Old 11-30-2010   #1
Gunnison, Colorado
What are the consequences of waxing my skis?

My name Jay and I am a pre professional outdoor educator. (student) I am currently enrolled in a course foccussed on sustainability in the outdoor industry and was challeged by my instructor to look into a topic of relevance and to make myself and my findings heard in a public forum. How better to do that that on the world-wide web?
Attached Files
File Type: doc ski wax.doc (27.5 KB, 157 views)

JayAdams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010   #2
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Interesting stuff. Guess I wasn't aware that ski wax was so toxic.

There are several grammer errors in your paper. I would suggest proof-reading it if it has to be turned in.

GARNA’s mission is to foster stewardship of the resources of the greater Arkansas River region through education, volunteerism and experiences. https://garna.org
lmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010   #3
up in them thar hills, Colorado
Paddling Since: 07
You should contact every major ski resort in the area that claims to be "green" and see what kind of waxes they are using in there on mountain shops. I work at one of them and I am going to just that.
Your paper is short and to the point maybe you should post it to the ski resorts web sites.
CO.rafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010   #4
Portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2006
I've come across a couple of companies that are making "all natural" waxes, but I'm sure there are others out there. It appears that there are some options out there, but I have no idea about the level of performance they provide... that said, I am planning on trying some of them out.

» tuf stuf Magical Go-Go

Growing old is mandatory... growing up is optional
spartankayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010   #5
Highlands Ranch, CO Paddling Since: 1993