Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Other Chatter > Winter Buzz

View Poll Results: BEST UTAH RESORT, based on terrain and snow conditions?
Snowbird/Alta 14 82.35%
Brighton 2 11.76%
Solitude 1 5.88%
Park City 0 0%
Voters: 17. You may not vote on this poll

Old 03-12-2006   #1
UTAH!!! please help if you know anything.

Outside of skiing I don’t know any thing about Utah and the Salt Lake area. I basically just have general questions:

What’s the best ski resort as far as terrain and snow conditions? I’m thinking of working for Snowbird or Alta.

What are the chill areas to live, that are affordable?

Jobs? I’m a ski tech at a shop here where I live so I’m figuring I could score a job at a shop there, but I’m doubting that would give me the hours I ideally would want. Obviously, a gig that aloud me to work in the evenings would be best. You of anything?

What is Salt Lake City like? Is there a night life there, such as bars? Is it hard to meet people, particularly other skiers?

If there is anything else that you think a 23 year old right out college should know about Salt Lake, please don't hesitate to include.

That’s what I’ve got so far… I'll definitely have more questions.

Shwaggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006   #2
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Snowbird and Alta are definetly the best. But on a good powder day or just to avoid the crowds solitude is siiiick...brighton can be to, but there isn't too many steeps.

Housing is pretty cheap, particularly on the west side, but that puts you away from the mountains. But generally some of the college type rentals around the U are decent and the peeps are fun up there. Otherwise the old school suburbs.