Old 02-28-2004   #1
Denver, Colorado
Used AT package (advice)

I'm new to the AT world and was looking for a little advice on this package price

Volkl Mountain (red 2002?) 178cm
Diamir Titanial 3
Lowe Struktura Evo
Life Link Poles
BD Cow Print Skins

All the items are in great shape. The Asking price is $600 for the package. It sounds like a fair deal to me but I know absolutely nothing about resale values on AT gear. That's why I need some input.

Stay Wet
Repa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004   #2
Salida, Colorado
Looks good to me how much does it weigh?

No amount of money is worth your free time!
whip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2004   #3
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
While I'm not familiar with all the gear, I'd say that if the equipment is in fair shape and the boots fit you well it'll be a great price to get into an AT setup. By my rough estimate, you could easily spend about $2000 for comparable new gear before you get out of the shop. AT gear usually holds resale value pretty well because its such a specialty niche, rather than a commodity market like downhill equipment. Sometimes you stumble across a great deal but they're not really common unless you're plugged into a backcountry network or get lucky.

For your first AT gear, you probably don't need to be as worried about the weight as much as the fit of the boots & compatibility with bindings, condition of the gear, etc. A big qestion is how you intend to use the gear. Do you see yourself dropping 15 feet of air into steep couloirs or skiing mellow glades after a picnic with your friends who are learning to tele? Other questions you need to ask now are:

- Will the skis turn easily in soft snow and hold an edge on firm snow?
- If the skis are super light-weight and as a result, flimsy, will that work for you (ie have you had to quit skiing Rossignols because you break every pair you get your hands on)?