Old 11-07-2007   #1
Littleton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
Use telemark binding shims?

any convincing arguments why or why not to use binding shims?

I have been tele-ing on and off now for a couple years now on borrowed or rented gear and am going to finally invest, none of the skis I've used have had them mounted, and I'm wondering if I should use them or not, and why or why not.

aggressive steeps/trees alpine skier
intermediate tele skier--can turn in trees and bumps ok when fresh, not so ok when tired, still working on smooth transition

looking at buying: world piste, G3, T2

Jay H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007   #2
Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 94

Shims are great, but you can buy them and mount them easily and take them off easily. So it's not a huge issue, kind of like deciding which leashes to use.

I would recomend you not buy that setup. The retail people probably told you to buy that setup. That's what they told me. I bought it and out grew it in less than 35 days. I'd been alpining since age 5, and the first resort they saw use @ was kicking horse on some serious shit your pants steeps. What happened...

Less than 35 days I had broken a wire and shattered the heal piece. My shins hurt from the bang caused by trying to drive too hard with the T2's, which are good if you are 50 and a casual rider, but not for charging steeps and the bumps and fast. G3's = POS, and if you buy them you better pack an extra wire and repair kit. World Piste I also bought, but found they were too little of a ski and I wanted more float.

So, after dropping about 1200 bucks on a setup, the next year I had replaced 2/3 of it and only this year am I working on replacing the T2's, with Crispi XR or T-race.

The whole walk mode is useless, you'll never use it once the thrill is gone from your purchase, I just unbuckle.

I have this theory they tell you to buy that shit so you buy two setups.