Old 02-05-2013   #1
Eagle, Idaho
Paddling Since: '78
Tele Advice

I'm committing to tele's and I'm looking for a little advice. Been thinking about ditching the alpines for about 10 or 12 years and I'm finally to the point where I'm going to make it happen.

Little bit about me...I've been skiing for 34 years (since I was 3), I've always skied pretty aggressively...bumps were my thing. I don't have it in my legs anymore to huck myself off big drops or terrain park booters or spend the day on it's time to transition. I've spent a few days on tele's, really loved it, could link turns on groomers.

So here's what I'm thinking...drop the $$$ on really good boots. I considered taking my alpine bindings off my ski's and putting tele bindings on, but I think I'd rather keep them (my son will start skiing next year). So I'll just get a cheap and/or used pair for the first couple years. But I want good boots to start...what should I look for? I'll be skinning maybe next year (have some friends with split boards). I'm about 6'2", 210ish with a narrow foot (I know some brands of alpine boots are made for wider feet, I'm assuming tele boots are the same?).

Any/all advice would be greatly appreciated.

GoodTimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013   #2
Avon, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1997
Scarpa are typically for narrower feet (which i have- T1 model). Garmont are for a little wider. Black Diamond are inbetween (average foot).
I highly recommend something with 4 buckles to power todays skis (100 - 120 mm underfoot)

ENDOMADNESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013   #3
Louisville, Colorado