Mountain Buzz banner

Skinning the trail...

5K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  jasonatthebasin 
#1 ·
Hey Buzzards I have something for you to pick apart...
I am new to AT skiing and the back country and had a few questions on skinning up the hill.

1. At times when I am in the middle of a climb, 30 deg. or so, it seems like the backs of my skis dive into the snow creating a steep short hill in front of me making it hard to get started again. I tried backing up, it gets worse. What am I doing wrong here?

2. I was also wondering how you think someone of my size would do on the skin trails, I feel like I break through easily. I am all of.. no shit, 6'3 and 320lbs, and dropping. I ski on a 181 head mojo dim.@ 130/105/122. I think I might beneifit from more length and width on the up hill, but I don't feel I will be in control on the downhill.

3. Last I want to know if you think that width is a good substitute for length in the powder. tip dive and all considered. I am considering going big under foot and not so long 185 is as fast as I want to go, but more like 170 length @ 170/140/155.

4. Last, last, Do you know how much skin is efective. I don't want to slide back or have to herringbone, and I know ice and hardpack/ice are a factor, but do you think my weight will use a half skin on a decent climb?

Thanks for your help, please include all the..stay home clown...and, Not on my skin trail brah... It always helps.

bob-o

See less See more
#2 ·