Old 11-26-2011   #1
Free and Easy
Granby, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007
Icelantic vs. Liberty?

Looking at buying local this year, and the Icelantic Keeper, Icelantic Nomad, and Liberty Helix are at the top of my list. I was hoping for a little insight as I have not skied any of the above.

150-155lbs, 5'10", aggressive but not expert. Coming off of 170's, I figure something in that range would be plenty given the added width of the new skis. I try to ski a bit of everything, including park, and I'm a first year instructor. I am looking for a one ski quiver, and I know Icelantic bills the Nomad as such, but the early rise on the Keeper and Helix appeal to me. I traditionally snowboard on powder days, but want to step up my ski game. I had a buddy that is a lifetime instructor at WP tell me that if I buy new skis w/out semi-rocker or early rise, I'll regret it.

Having only skied traditional camber, I have no idea what I'm missing, or what I'll be giving up for that matter in an early rise ski.

Thanks all for any input.

RiverCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011   #2
Icebox, Colorado
Paddling Since: 98
So both of these companie are in Colorado but Icelantics are pressed in Co and Libertys are pressed in China. I had a buddy just get the Helix and it looks like a solid ski with an early rise tip as opposed to the Nomad which is a traditional camber ski. You will be giving up a short turning radius (quicker turns) and less float on a powder day with a traditional camber ski. But if you snowboard on powder days and want to support local I would go with the Icelantic.
I have the Keeper and it is on of the funnest skis that I have been on in soft snow....

grandyoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011   #3
Land of Lovin, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006