Old 02-01-2006   #1

Im new to Colorado. I wanted to find some info on where good skiing huts are, how to go about staying in one. I live on the front range. Thnaks for your help.

stephenvt2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006   #2
Eagle County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Try for the most comprehensive info. There is also a book available. Maybe search on Amazon to find what the title is.

Eisman near Vail is supposed to be good for BC skiing, but I've never been there.

I've been to Fowler-Hilliard in the summer, and Resolution Mountain looks like it would be good. I belive there is snowcat skiing that may access that area too. I've also been to Polar Star, also in the summer. I climbed New York Mountain, and there might be some good routes up there.

As always, be careful and use avy gear at any of these spots. The ones I mentioned are at treeline, and the skiing is wide open above treeline bowls and such.

WhiteLightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006   #3
Pick up a copy of Lou Dawon's Hut book. The 10th MTN huts may be hard to get into this time of year. You may give the Leadville yurts a look; good skiing nearby. Lost Wonder Hut near Monarch may have some openings too.
killtunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006   #4
Colorado Hut to Hut is the bible, there's two volumes (north and south, yes, there are THAT many). It has ALL the info you need to start, don't buy any other book without looking at these first.

As for 10th Mt Huts, the ones with superb skiing that I have been to are Eiseman and Estin. But Eiseman is a bitch of a climb in. Fowler Hilliard supposedly is good, and Jackal has great tight tree skiing.
sandbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006   #5
Avon, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1997

Just like everyone has stated in my opinion of just the 10th mtn huts Eisman is the Best. It is the best skiing and layout. It is a biatch to get to.