Old 02-11-2009   #1
Fort Collins, Colorado
AT Skiers-Gear Suggestions

I am a tele skier who is looking at AT gear. I do not know a lot about the differences in bindings but have heard that they are not as strong as alpine bindings. I thought this might be old news and with the new technology I am sure they are much better than they were a few years ago. Not trying to push these bindings to their limit, dropping cliffs, etc...just dont want them to pop off when in mogules. Suggestions...what is the best AT set-up out there. Also do you really need boots or do alpine boots work (just leaving them unbuckled when hiking). Thanks

teleboater5.13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009   #2
B Dog
Missoula, Montana
Paddling Since: 2001
AT bindings are obviously not specifically designed to be skied on area bashing moguls all day but they can handle it. I have been skiing Fritschi bindings for 4 years and have definetley done on area and mogul skiing and they work fine and have held up fine, I however feel as though they don't ski as well as a dedicated alpine binding for this application, but you get comfortable with what you use. With the exception of Dynafit bindings you can use any alpine boot in most AT bindings, and they really aren't too uncomfortable to hike/skin in. I would encourage an AT specific boot if you are buying it all anyway, they are more comfortabel and if you get the right boot they ski equal as well. If you are leaning toward Dynafit, I finally did, make sure to get a compatible boot right away so you don't have to buy another set of boots, most of them still work in other AT bindings, but they don't however always work in Alpine bindings. If I was you, I would seriously consider a Dynafit setup, half the weight, similar price, with the exception of the boot, and according to all that use them they ski better. Just got mine, they are being mounted as I write this. I have a friend that has been patrolling on them for a few years and swears by the