Old 08-25-2011   #1
thornton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2011
which boat for me? ammo, burn!?!?!

So, I am in a toss up for my first ww boat. I am new to the scene and getting ready for next season. As the ammo and burn are being discontinued, I can get a decent deal on on a brand new boat!!! So, I figure I am gonna be doin a little rivet running and possibly some creeking as well. I am 6'2 185-190lbs. Anyone have suggestions? I'm used to my 10.5 foot rec/fishing kayak, so my initial thought was to go with the burn being that it is a little larger. But I want some good versatility as well. Also, looking to make friends in the whitewater community. Getting into this by my lonesome, haha. I am 28, into snowboarding, fishing, four wheeling, needing to meet friends. Thanks guys.

wytewaterwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011   #2
Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Personally I would go for the Burn, it is a better river runner/creeker. Then you only have to buy a playboat once you decide that looks fun too

The Ammo is a great crossover boat where being a little smaller it will be easier to surf and play in but by no means a playboat, have a couple friends that love them but they also have other boats in their quiver.

MtnBuzz is a great place to meet folks, kinda on the shoulder edge of the season. Get a boat now and run as much as you can before winter, then spend winter in the pool dialing in your skills. Clubs like Colorado Whitewater and Pikes Peak (Colo Springs) are a great way to meet people and find trips to go on. Pray for another year of snow like the last, welcome to the sport...

kayakfreakus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011   #3
Beaverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2005