Old 11-19-2012   #1
Huntington Beach, California
Paddling Since: 1965
What size boat is best for out west?

I have pushed rubber for a living for over 25 years back east running rivers from Maine to Georgia and made many pilgrimages to the GC, but that is the extent of my running rivers west of the Mississippi. Now retired and living in Southern California. My wife and I and our whitewater loving Rottweiler are planning a multi-day rig to run on western rivers; thinking Oregon, Alaska, Washington, Idaho, Colorado, New Mexico, etc. I am approaching 60 years and so I'm thinking trips like Rogue, Salmon, Salt, Snake, Green etc. Could use some advice on the size boat to consider.

Thinking 14SB or a 15SB NRS Otter. Cost and boat weight are not a concern. Tube size (20) and width (7ft) are equal. Boat will be heavy with gear, so do I need the extra capacity or will the added length make maneuvering more difficult? Will I float higher for the same weight and is that a good thing? Please share your wisdom.

Riverrat65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012   #2
Pinecliffe, Colorado
Paddling Since: 05
If thinking 14 or 15 go 15. That said I was thinking 15 or 16 and always glad I went 16. On multiday runs most people I run with have a 14 or 15 and wish they had 16 in hindsight. More comfortable more room. Only thing is its heavy but if you roll it for the winter a dolly makes it easier to move around. Some people say "I can load my 14 and haul as much as a 16," but its not very comfortable. Have fun those are some sweet runs you listed.

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions. KARL MARX
treemanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012   #3
Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1975
16fter no doubt for that list until you start looking at tighter, technical, lighter load, multiday runs then a 14fter. and you may be surprised what you can get a 16fter down on technical runs after you get a feel for it too.