Old 05-07-2012   #1
colorado, Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
what kind of crapper is the best?

I am pretty new to boating and trying to get my new 14 ft. raft setup for some multi-nighters. I dont know shit, pardon te pun, on the crappers available to buy. Whats the word? what is the better crapper to buy for someone who, how to I say this, needs an "extra" heavy duty load factor?)))

beetle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #2
SLC, Utah
Paddling Since: 2006

Not sure there is a better "groover" (thats the name of the crapper on the river) than the "Jon-ny Partner" made by Partner Steel. At nearly $600 it should be. Good luck.

Laserjock62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #3
Johnny Partner is the way to go.
mrkyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #4
Unincorporated Douglas County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Johnny Partner is "the shit".

I've never used one, but the River Banks System looks good, also.
Karma is like this: If we set causes in motion the effects come back to us.
rwhyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #5
prescott, Arizona
Paddling Since: 1982
hey beetle,

if you're just starting out i'm guessing money is a priority.

get a 20mm rocket box and a toilet seat.

i've been using the same set up for 30+ years. in the old days, they used to make us plastic bag our "materials" for each day and store them in the rocket box. now we just 'deposit' right in the box.
(perhaps that was TMI)

basically you don't have to spend a lot of money to poop in the woods, IMHO.

86304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012   #6
Sandy, Utah
Paddling Since: 1997
Groover 101 based on my experience. I have grooved on all of these on at least one river trip. All of these are available from Cascade Outfitters so the prices are from their website.
Johnny Partner - $587 - the Cadillac of groovers. Expensive, a bit heavy, will withstand years of use and abuse.