Old 08-23-2011   #1
Calgary, Alberta
Paddling Since: 2011
What kind of boat do I want?

I'm looking for any advice anybody wants to give me. I am new to kayaking this season, but am fairly aggressive with a reasonable roll. I am 5'6 and 160lbs so in the awkward range of boats. I am looking to buy a boat but am not sure what kind. River-runnin/Play boats are being suggested, such as the fuse 56, varun, and the freeride 57. If i were to buy one of these, would I want something different right away as my ability improves? What would be the disadvantages of possibly getting a play boat right away as I see that is the direction I will likely be going? Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated!

TTTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011   #2
Salmon, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1998
jackson all star. There's one in swap for 350 right now. There's definitely people who will tell you that as a beginner you should buy a river runner, but in my opinion you're better off to go with more of a pure playboat. The best thing about the allstar for you? You'll be flipping... ALOT, and that will give you an opportunity to practice that roll some more.

Keep it Steep
mcoper8901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011   #3
I don't think your size is that awkward. Especially for the Jackson boats. EJ is not too differently sized from you and he builds boats for himself.
KUpolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011   #4
Haley Station, Ontario
Paddling Since: 2002
All depends on where/what type of stuff you want to paddle! Do the rivers you paddle have lots of flatwater? Park and play? Deep waves, shallow holes..... The best advice I can give is try (actually paddle) as many boats as you can. It's truly the only way to know if you are going to like the boat.

Just my opinion,

Good Luck

Dan Caldwell
Rapid Media TV Guy
Read rapids? Read Rapid! The Whitewater Magazine
Join our Facebook Page for Special Offers
and read all of our back issues online for FREE!