Old 04-10-2016   #1
Columbus, Georgia
Paddling Since: 2016
WaveSport EZ v. WaveSport Fuse 48 v. Pyranha Recoil S??

I'm extremely new to paddling and I already love it and am trying to decide on which boat I should buy out of these three.

I am 5'9" 145 lbs and size 10 shoe. I live right by the Chatahoochee River which is home to an amazing Whitewater Course that ranges from Class I to Class V depending on the time of day and weather. The river calms down after the course, but I have never truly been too far down past the end of the course. Anyway, I am looking for a small whitewater/playboat to learn on and also be able to take on the road for a weekend getaway (not a touring boat though, just a day on the water).

I have looked around a bit and found 3 boats in very good condition for under $500, but have not tried them out yet. The EZ comes with just a paddle for 440, the Fuse 48 is by itself for 330, and the Recoil comes with skirt, paddle, helmet, PFD, and a car carrier for 550.

I'm not going out for a cheap boat, but since this is my first boat and I also don't have that big of a budget for a newer boat, these three are my options. Again, I am a very new paddler and I learned on a Pyranha Burn III S. I am leaning towards the Recoil because of the gear that is included, but I am not sure if the boat would be a right fit (physically) or anything.

Here are the boats:

Thanks in advance guys, also look up the Chatahoochee Columbus Course so you can see what I'm working with over here.

Brgrover123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016   #2
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Send a message via AIM to J
I can only speak to the EZ. Great all around boat that can take you far. But that is not a great price for a 15 year old design... I bet you can find it for half that.

J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016   #3
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978
Skip the Recoil. Not many people liked it.
FallingH20 is offline   Reply With Quote