Mountain Buzz banner

The Art/Science of Rigging

44K views 44 replies 27 participants last post by  utahriverguy 
#1 ·
Hi all, I am new to the Buzz. I have been a kayaker for the last five years and our two kids have reached the age where they can now enjoy river trips. Yeehoo! I have enjoyed the first part of this winter acquiring new and used gear. I purchased a family rig, a used 16' self bailer and a four bay frame. The maiden voyage for me and this rig will be Deso this May. I will also be raft support for two kayakers. I will be carrying everything in my rig. What are some methods to the rigging madness. I have all the right gear including a large yeti cooler and dry box an eco safe groover as well the fire pan and some 20mm rocket boxes. I hope this thread invokes some thoughts of the river on these chilly January evenings. Thanks.

#2 ·
There is definitely an art to it, but it's hard to say without seeing how it goes together. It's something you'll figure out as you go, or at least that's how I did it. You'll try it one time, one way. You won't like something, and you'll tweak it either on river or the next time. And so the process goes until you have something you like. Try a dry run. Blow up the boat, put the frame on, boxes, cooler, etc. You'll at least have an idea and will be able to start somewhere.

#3 ·
Thats a good idea. As far as the groover goes I'm thinking put it on the bottom of the pile in the stern. Then strap all the dry bags etc down and the thing shouldn't come out. Thats my main concern is strapping/holding odd shaped stuff in the boat like fire pan, propane tank, groover.

#4 ·