Old 08-19-2013   #1
Boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2012
Tandem IKs

Thanks for all the feedback, folks, very helpful. There are happy SE people out there!

I'm getting close -- it's between the Aire Tomcat Tandem and the Zoik AlterEgo SE. Leaning toward the Zoik although the Tomcat is so popular and Aire so regarded. The Zoik is lighter, comes with removable skeg and less expensive ... and American made.

Anyone with feedback on the Zoik IK?

Taters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013   #2
Jackson, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1966
Zoik description says designed with the flat water paddler in mid (shores of mountain lakes), but I think you said something about class III (IV?) -- sorry if my memory is wrong, i did not go back and review your previopus thread.

I have no experience with ZOIK, but based on that description alone, I would hesitate -- see what others have to say, perhaps those with experience with that ZOIK.

johnovice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013   #3
Florence, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
From my research, Zoik is rated up to class 3 rapids. Tomcat is rated for class 4. Guess it depends on how big you will be running. If you get the Tomcat and want to run bigger stuff later it will do it. Might be limited later with Zoik.
formerflatlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013   #4
cedar city, Utah
Tough one as I know Zoik cares about their customers and its nice to support the cottage industries that are trying to add some diversity to the playing field.

Differences I see:

Warranty: Tomcat 1; Zoik 3
Valves: Zoik requires $50 for Leafield Upgrade
Zoik is significantly lighter
Bow rise is more than inch higher the tubes are slightly large on the Aire.

Are the Zoik rigs really made in the US? I know they are headquartered out Colorado but I was under the assumption their boats were manufactured in Asia.