Old 08-07-2010   #1
Fanta Se', New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2007
Sleeping bags

What are the best sleeping bags that you use for self support trips? Down or synthetic? I am looking for a bag that can pack down small to fit in the stern but able to handle a cool evening. Any specific brands?

Lt Col Pinkerton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010   #2
Plunk your magic twanger!
New Castle, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I have a Ledge brand 20 degree synthetic bag. It weighs less than two pounds and comes in a compression sack that makes it about the size of a football. I am a "warm" sleeper and it is great on the sand on 40/50 degree nights. I have used it inside a tent on a 2" pad below freezing (probably not 20 degrees) and I do pull it over my head. I would avoid down on the river because it is completely useless if it gets wet.

Gremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010   #3
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008
These work great, and they give you a few different options for various weather conditions, and come in a compression sack.

I used the modular sleep system when I was in the Army, and also for a November Westy trip, but I was able to throw it on one of our gear rafts. Never tried them on a self support.

OH, and the Bivy sack in the Modular Sleep System is gortex and quite waterproof, and can be used by itself, with just either the green or black sleeping bag, or with all 3 together to provide the warmest combination for those extreme cold and wet days.

Modular Sleep System:
Buy Military Modular Sleeping Bags at Army Surplus World

Wiggy's Sleep System:
Sleeping Bags

- Alex
If you're going to stick it out there, don't be afraid to get it cut off.
Airborne2504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010   #4
Eagle, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
20 degree down Mtn Hardware. Sicko bag that packs super small. I carry it inside of my watershed stern floats (I sometimes throw it in it's own dry bag, although it's overkill).