Old 06-18-2014   #1
Phoenix, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2013
Sevylor SK100DS vs Sea Eagle 340x /300x

Hi all,

Long version of the question (scroll down for short version):

I'm new to kayaking, however I currently own a sea eagle 330, which I like, but it is a bit soft in comparison to their Fasttrack or Explorer IK lines.

I would love to be able to buy one of theses, but cannot afford them:

So, I opted for the next best thing, the Sevylor SK100DS (red and grey one, not the yellow black one, although they are very similar) and bought 2 @ $200/piece (one for me and one for the wife).

I have not yet received it but judging by the specs online, it seems very rugged, built with the Sevytex material, which is comparable (I think??) to 1100 Decitex material.
The reasons I got two of these and not a single tandem one were 1) price, and 2) the fact that due to their smaller form factor, they may also serve as a surf kayaks for my wife and I (kind of hard to do with a tandem setup, I think?)

I should also mention that while I would like to do some whitewater kayaking in the future, that is not my main purpose for it. It will be more of an all around type of kayak which I can take to the beach, river or lake with me.

So... (sorry for the long intro), my question to you guys is as follows: How does this kayak (Sevylor SK100DS)

Sevylor 1-Person Surf Kayak with Paddle and Pump: Outdoor Sports :

compare to a Sea Eagle Explorer 340x (or the newer 300x),

Explorer Inflatable Kayaks are Rugged, Dependable Inflatable Kayaks designed for up to Class Four Whitewater

in terms of workmanship, build, rigidity, durability, you know overall?

It is my understanding that both are self bailing, both have hard dropstitched floors and both have a similar weight/gear capacity.

Aside from the removable skeg (which I've already ordered and PLAN on gluing to the Sevylor, in hopes it improves with tracking and maneuverability), what else is lacking or highly different between these two IKs.