Old 11-09-2009   #1
Beverley, East Yorks UK
Paddling Since: 09
Remix 69 or 79? ( I fit both)

Hi all,
Hello from the UK! I've been learning at my club for about 3 months and now want to get into WW, so I'm demoing a Remix 69 on Saturday, and I'd appreciate a little advice as to whether I shoudl get that or the Remix 79. The reason I'm asking is because I weigh 224 lbs, and I'm 6' tall. I've sat in a 69 (in a shop) and it was great - comfy and a really good fit. The weight of a 69 is 130-240 lbs, so at 224 lbs I'm near the top. The range of the 79 is 180-280, so I'd be in the middle (roughly speaking).

My question is this - from a paddling point view as a novice on WW, would I learn better in the 69 or the 79? - I'm assuming i'd be lower in the water in a 69, but I don't know what difference that would make!

If someone is able to specify what advantages/disadvantages I'd have in the 69 and the 79 that would be a great help.

Cheers, Peter.
P. S. Congratulations on a great forum, by the way

wibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009   #2
Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I like having more volume, so I would go with the bigger boat.

Smaller boat in theory will respond and turn easier and quicker than the big boat. The larger boat will ride higher in the water, be a little faster, and plow through things.

Some would make the decision based upon the water they will be paddling if it is tight and technical lower volume creeks/rivers than the shorter boat might be the way to go. If you ever wanna pack gear and overnight, the larger will have more room for that. Paddle both if you can to see if you notice any difference in them.

kayakfreakus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009   #3
Lakewood, Colorado
Hi there.

Can't answer your question but I thought I'd say hello because I'm originally from the UK and I used to live in Sheffield. Didnt paddle much there, but I did make it down to the national whitewater centre in Nottingham once.