Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking > Kayaking | Gear Talk

Old 09-13-2013   #1
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
Recommendations for a good beginners river-running kayak

I figured this topic would be done to death, although I couldn't quite find it, so here goes. I'm a newb to whitewater kayaking and would like to buy a first kayak for river-running on Colorado rivers. I have very limited experience (two floats of Labyrinth Canyon on the Green in canoes, rafting and canoeing the Lower Animas, and some lake canoeing). I'm not really looking to do any playboating, just run the rivers and hopefully get up to some higher class rapids eventually. Suggestions? I was thinking about a Dagger RPM Max, although I get the impression that they're outdated.

RyanHostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013   #2
Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1985
LL Remix

Liquidlogic Remix will be a good learner boat and take you to wherever you want to go.

jones boater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013   #3
NOCO, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1990
One of the biggest advantages the newer kayaks (LL Remix) have over the older kayaks is the improved ergonomics and outfitting. It is also much easier to dial in the "perfect" fit on a LL Remix than it is on the old RPM. Sit in a few different kayaks before you buy - and spend a good 20-30 minutes sitting in each boat and then ask yourself if you could spend hours in it without a break.
FatmanZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013   #4
Denver, Colorado