Old 10-18-2011   #1
Salt Lake City, Utah
Paddling Since: 1998
Quick cat oar tower position question

I've recently come across the opportunity to buy a cat for an awesome price (either an Ocelot or perhaps a WD, though I'm not sure if I can get the deal on a WD, even though that would be my preference given the option).

I have always rowed a raft, currently own a 156R AIRE so have my gear hauling needs covered. I'm looking to put together something pretty sporty.

My question is that in doing research, I have noticed that most cat frames (at least on the Ocelot and WD it seems) put the oar towers fairly far forward of center. Is this so that the rower's weight is centered mid-tube? It seems like this would affect the ability to pivot, but I'm new to this whole cat thing and figured I'd see what the deal is.

Pcdc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011   #2
no tengo
Baytopia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1876
centering the mass is more important than centering the pivot point especially on a small boat.

mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011   #3
Beaverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2005
Are you referring to what I've heard called the "Idaho Cat" arrangment?
brandob9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011   #4
portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1991
Gear boats you typically center the oars. Small boats without gear its easier to turn. You typically want your CG just front of center, which makes the cat handle better and more stable, IMO
Hey, if you want me to take a dump in a box and mark it "guaranteed", I will. I got spare time.
Avatard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011   #5
irvine, California
Paddling Since: 1987
The rower seated forward helps with having more weight in front to help punch holes. Another benefit is that it's much easier to land the boat in fast current, as it's easier to step off and grab the boat with only one person in a hot landing situation.
wildh2onriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011   #6