Prescription glasses - Mountain Buzz

Old 3 Days Ago   #1

Pretoria, Alabama
Paddling Since: 2007
Prescription glasses

Hi, I have been paddling with glasses for the last 10 years and always used what was available in-store, mostly the cheapest, and they never last long. I want to get proper prescription frame for whitewater kayaking. Any recommendations?

Thanks
Jan

janatthefuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 3 Days Ago   #2

evanston, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1968
Depends on needs

Since your post was on the kayak section; don't waste money on good glasses in water in which you might have practice your roll. You will trash/lose them even with a head strap.If you need glasses to see well,get soft contacts and disposable polarized shades.Your doctor will tell you NOT to use CL in river water.To really see; get polarized( reduces glare and makes sneaky water features more visible) prescription shades in a flexible frame( $$$) Most serious fly fishermen use polarized.I'm a optometrist;trust me!
eyeboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 Days Ago   #3

Ft Collins, Colorado
Hmm... I've been paddling for 40 years with prescription glasses, and I guess my take is a bit different. No question that good quality frames will last longer, but if you're careful (and I am), then boating is very rarely what kills my glasses.

I think the advice really depends on the type of paddling you're doing, the conditions, and your personality. If you're not wearing a helmet, then glasses _will_ fall off if you're upside down. Obviously this will vary if you have a strap under a ponytail, etc.