Old 07-05-2011   #1
Elmendorf AFB, Alaska
Paddle size question

Hey guys, first time posting here.

I just picked up a Dagger Nomad 8.5 for $450. The guy included a full carbon Werner paddle with the bent shaft and a skirt. I measured the paddle and it seems to come out to 185cm (or there about). Am I measuring it incorrectly or something? I'm just measuring end to end. Browsing online I only see paddles in the mid 190s to 200cm range for whitewater. I haven't tried the paddle in the boat yet. Should I even try it or is it definitely too short to use? I'm 6'2" by the way. Kind of clueless as I have no prior experience.

Nurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011   #2
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Nice snag. All that for $450 is a great deal....I believe they do measure paddles from end to end, and 185 seems pretty short. I am only 5'6" and use a 192cm. Is it really worn down? With heavy use the fiberglass blades can wear down possibly taking off as much as 3-4cm on each end (however, I don't think this is a problem with the carbon fiber).

I would get out in a pool or easy class I-II water and paddle around a little. Try and roll with that new paddle and then make a decision if you want to keep it or not.

Welcome to kayaking, the most addictive sport in the world.

GARNA’s mission is to foster stewardship of the resources of the greater Arkansas River region through education, volunteerism and experiences.
lmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011   #3
Farmington, Utah
Paddling Since: 2009
That is a little short. I bought a Werner Sho-Gun, and being 6'4" I went with a 203cm paddle, but if I had it to do over again I think I would go shorter 200cm at the most. Now here is a question. I have heard that for creeking you want to go about 2cm shorter than you normally would is this true or just a preference?
Flying_Spaghetti_Monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011   #4
Elmendorf AFB, Alaska