Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking > Kayaking | Gear Talk

Old 05-24-2011   #1
Thornton, hawksnest34
Paddling Since: 2011
New Kayaker. Better to be at bottom end of weight range or top?

I'm totally new to Kayaking and just took the beginners class.
Now I am looking to buy my first kayak.
I found a decent deal on a Jefe Grande which I hear is a good model but the weights are 170lbs to 290lbs.

I am normally between 165lbs and 175lbs (5'8 tall). Closer to the high end now.

I think I am right at that in between weight were I can go so big or small.

Any suggestions? My fear is I'll get something too big or too small and it won't handle right.

Any suggestions are welcome!

hawksnest34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011   #2
Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007
Starting out, if you're going to get a creeker, get a used one so when it wraps around a rock, its not 1200 down the drain. Starting out though you should just get a river runner. Dagger axiom, Pyrana inazone. A playboat will be fun too, you'll be doing class III anyway. And playboats have a steeper learning curve since they're so unstable, you'll develop skills quicker.

Ben.B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011   #3
Thornton, hawksnest34
Dagger rpm? See a few of those around
hawksnest34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011   #4
Steamboat, Colorado!
Paddling Since: 2005
I am not sure that my two cents are that helpful but a bunch of us took out a RPM from a friend when we were first learning... it seems to be the beginner boat of choice at least from the people I go boating with. I have only been kayaking for a few years so not an expert by any means but get a river runner it will make your life a lot more fun.
jen84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011   #5
norcal, California