Old 09-15-2011   #1
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Need help choosing boat (whitewater)...

I was just looking for some experienced advice on what boat I should get. I am relatively new to kayaking and enjoy both flatwater and whitewater. I am just getting into whitewater and took some lessons and will be trying some class III here soon (in the next couple of weekends at Ohiopyle). I was thinking about the Liquid Logic Remix XP 9, but was also told I should consider the Pyranha Burn (medium). I have tried both and enjoyed both and am still too new to tell a significant difference although I thought I had an easier time rolling in the Burn. The reason that the Burn was recommended was that my instructor thought that I needed more volume but according to specs it seems they list the same volume. I don't yet understand exactly how the volume will affect me in whitewater so I would like some help to make sure I get the right boat.

I am 6'1" and weigh around 160-165 lbs.

XtremeGreen3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011   #2
Beaverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2005
Remix 69 would be straight up your alley, too. I wouldn't call the Burn a beginner boat, despite its ease of rolling. The nearest analogy is that it is a very high performance sports car that requires constant maintenance; this isn't what you want to learn to drive in. For the class III stuff and up, I'd go with a dedicated whitewater boat and skip the crossover segment.

brandob9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011   #3
Riverdale, Utah
Paddling Since: 1977
If you can find a demo of the new LL Stomper 80, try that one too. Wouldn't be as edgy as a Burn; sounds like another great whitewater boat.

I am surprised that a Remix XP 9 is listed as only 73 gallons; it should have more volume than a medium Burn. Sounds like a typo to me. The Remix XP10 is 105 gallons; those XPs are bigger boats; should have plenty of room for touring.