Old 05-03-2011   #1
salmon, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2004
Looking to buy my first kayak.

I didn't want to say it but, what is a good entry level boat for a large paddler?
I am 6'2" and 210lbs. and i bit confused about sizing. I have seen gallons, length, and s/m/l/xl/etc...
I am not looking to get wild, just something to throw in the river after work. The raft requires too much effort and a kayak, or even SUP, looks like a lot more fun on the townie float. probably wont ever see anything over a III.
I have no experience but I'm not worried about that, and a coworker is willing to teach me a liitle.
I don't have a local shop so I'm stuck on-line.
My question is mostly about what size and (I know there are thousands of opinions out there) style would be a good beginner boat.
And just one more thing, what is oil canning.

Thanks for helping out a newbie.

SALRVRRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011   #2
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1986
Sounds like a "river runner" kayak would be a good choice for you.
CKS| River Running Kayaks: Liquid Logic Remix, Pyranha Ammo, Wavesport Diesel & more
They are easier to learn in, and are more forgiving for river running in general. I am the exact same size as you, and like to paddle river running boats in the 80 gallon range. 80-90 gallons seems to work for me. The more "volume" in a boat, the higher it sits out of the water, the less it is effected by river features, and the more comfortable you are. The Pyranha Karnali seems to fit me well and is good for my needs.It is fast, stable and can punch through meaty features well due to the speed that it can generate. The Liquid Logic Remix (79) is another good boat - awesome outfitting and very forgiving, fast and predictable. The WaveSport Diesel 80, and Jackson Super Hero are good choices too. They would all get the job done - and then some.