Old 04-28-2016   #1
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2015
Looking for a Good Starter Creeker

Hey everyone, so I am new to Kayaking and looking for a good starter creeker boat for maybe around 600 dollars, so obviously used. I need a bit of help knowing what to look for, hopefully something that will be good for a beginner but remain a good option as I hopefully get better. Please let me know your suggestions for what kind of creeker would be a good boat to start with.

zrooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016   #2
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
Send a message via AIM to craven_morhead
What do you weigh? There's a Mamba 8.1 on the gear swap for $600; if you're the right size it would fit the bill for you.

craven_morhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016   #3
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2015
I am 5' 11'' and 165lbs
zrooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016   #4
By "starter creeker" do you mean you're a beginner and would like do do some easy (II-III+) creeks? Or that you're expecting to step up to Class V sometime soon. If you don't expect to be into the Class IV+ to V range any time soon, at your weight I would say the Mamba 8.1 is a great boat. You could run Class V with it, but I would probably recommend a slightly larger boat (maybe a Nomad 8.5/8.6, Large Burn, Medium Karma, etc.)

I have a Mamba 8.1 at 180 pounds, its great for creeks up to IV-, and awesome for big water, but when I've pushed it past that level I'm a bit too big for it and have wished I had a bigger boat. So I bought a Nomad 8.5 (kept the Mamba for easier stuff) and its definitely bigger and easier on harder creeks -- just what I was looking for to ride high on the water and not worry about endering or catching an edge in IV, IV+, V- stuff which is where I'm hoping to step up to.