Old 10-08-2013   #1
layton, Utah
Ok so I'm new to ww kayaking. I've got a short sea kayak (old town egret 14.5') and a couple rec boats. However I've yet to try any meaningful whitewater runs. My skills are so far limited. I can roll my egret easily enough, and I've gone down some class I and II rivers. I decided I am going to try some more serious rivers to run, so I need a new boat.

5'10" 180lbs. Size 11 shoe.

At the top of my list of rivers I want to try is the escalante when it next is running. Assuming of course I am comfortable enough in whatever boat I get by then. Given that's a good 7+ days I'm going to need storage capacity. Leaning towards a crossover kayak. Specificly the ws ethos 10. Or perhaps a pyranha fusion. A creek boat is also a consideration. LL stomper 90 or something.

My question: given my goals of river running with multi day self support, perhaps in the 7-10 day range, what kayak would you suggest I consider? Is there anything suitable for multi day trips, that's worth learning on? I would prefer whatever I get to handle up to class IV but not totally suck on flat spots on the rivers as well. I like the badass outfitting in LL kayaks but I don't quite like the remix xp. Couldn't say why though. Anyways thanks in advance for any replies

Strid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013   #2
durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1964
Are you talking about the Escalante River in Southern Utah?

This is a pic of a takeout years ago when the lake was at the top.

They ran the river at 30 or so CFS in pack cats.

jpwinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013   #3
Hood River, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2163
Look into Alpacka Packrafts if you are mostly interested in the multi day/expedition aspect:

Alpacka Raft LLC - The World's Finest Packrafts
David Spiegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013   #4
layton, Utah
Yep that would be the place

Not to be confused with the escalante creek.