Old 08-25-2010   #1
Park City, Utah
Paddling Since: 2001
Jackson Superstar - Problems Please Help

I got a great deal on a very good condition 2009 Jackson Superstar. I took it out for the first time out to the playpark in Pueblo at around 700. I have been using a Pyranha S6F 193 for the past four years, and finally got tired of not be able to jog a day or so afterwards because of hip pain, as I crammed my 6'3" 200 pound body into it. But a couple of things I noticed between the two.

1) When I finally get my happy feet dialed in, this boat should be a lot more comfortable.

2) My favorite wave is the #1, and I couldn't stay in it to save my life. I have never had that problem with my S6F, from 300 to 5000 CFS.

3) I always hear that Jackson brags about it's secondary stability of it's hull. It felt to me that when I got the SS on it's edge, that I was more often than not having to roll back up.

4) The backband seems to be total crap. I have it fairly tight against my back, so much that it was hard to get out of my kayak after an hour of playing, but every time I rolled, I had to pull off the skirt and pull the back band back up, because it was almost against the seat. Do I need to get past the idea that it is a buttband and not a backband? Is there any advantage to the SS compared to my Connect30 rigid/rachet backband?

5) The SS seems to flatspin and back surf easier than my SF6.

I know this is a better playboat than the SF6, or everyone in the world wouldn't have one. Please help me see the light, as I am thinking about going back to the numb legs after 5 minute boat again.

Thanks - BS

BullSCit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010   #2
Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1991
I had one of these before I got my 2010, and I absolutely loved it- I think I'd still have it had it not been stolen from my back yard last year....