Old 04-16-2010   #1
Boise, Idaho
Is this idea crazy?

I have a welded frame for my 14' Miwok. This makes it a little difficult to expand the frame. For instance, I'd like to add a front rail that would support a seat over the front thwart and/or hold a dry box with thwart removed. The existing front rail, which sits just behind the thwart, is solid, with bends on either end. Not being a welder, I need some piece of add-on technology.

I've looked at the various railing products such as KleeKlamp that have hinged ends to go over exsiting rails, and they just look flimsy to me. I have read with interest Zorba's posts and have reviewed his website where he sells the side rail attachments machined (quite beautifully) from aluminum, and figured the "spud free" version could be attached to my front rail at one end and the new front rail at the other, and solve my problem. Beautiful, elegant, but I'm a cheap SOB when it comes to this boat.

I am, however, a woodworker. I cutting veggies last night on my cutting board made from UHMW polyethylene, and had an idea. Rip such a cutting board to approx. 2" strips, laminate several strips (which are about 1/2" thick) with epoxy and mechanical fasteners (screws, nuts/bolts) and have a 2" x 1" (or maybe 1.5") piece of UHMW (this would be far cheaper than buying 2" thick UHMW). At each end, using a hole saw in the drill press, drill a semi-circle of appropriate size to my tubes (as close to 1.66" as possible), attached to tubes with U-bolts, and then screw my new front bench seat to the UHMW.

A cheap solution, or an accident waiting to happen?

Jamespio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010   #2
Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1965
My gut feeling from working with UHMW is that nothing sticks to it. Better to try and find a solid piece I think, but you could try. If you are a woodworker how about using teak?

jgrebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010   #3
Boise, Idaho