Old 09-14-2005   #1
How do I choose a white water kayak?

I am 5' 8" tall and around 175 pounds.
what type or size do I need?

Robert Peek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005   #2
pnw, Washington
pick by color, those fade jobs are sexy

sorry, thats just not enough info to tell you what you need. Can you expand on what you want to do with it? Are you a pro board surfer and moved inland and what to continue surfing or is this the first time you have ever been on moving water? stuff like that.

gh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005   #3
Thanks so much for responding. I honestly appreciate any advice on subject. I am a beginner and I would like to learn
how to white water II & III rapids and then move up from there. I am not really into recreational type long kayaks but would like very much to get into the shorter 5 - 6' blunt ended hard plastic type.
I need to ramp up on info so I can plan lessons and equipment.

Thanks, Bob Peek
Robert Peek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005   #4
Eagle County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Hey Bob.

I would start with a used boat your first season or two, develop some feel for the sport, then maybe try a new one out once you can have a better idea what you are looking for. If you click on the "gear swap" link at the top of the mountainbuzz site, you will have access to probably one of the best classifides sites for used paddling gear around. Most the the boaters who are selling gear will say something like "great for beginners" in their ads if it is an appropriate kayak. Also, check under the forums menu for the gear talk forum. About every week or two someone asks the question about "best boat for beginner" and there will be a pile of replies.

If you are just looking for a starter boat, any boat that is listed as a "river runner" or a "river running playboat" is usually pretty appropriate. Creek boats and play boats are usually agressively designed to serve a specific purpose.