Old 04-03-2013   #1
Little Rock, Arkansas
Paddling Since: 1978
Hand pumps: DRE vs NRS vs Carlson

Is the extra cost of the Carlson worth it compared to DRE? looking at 5". DRE's is about $50 cheaper. NRS is about $25 cheaper.

TimEubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013   #2
Bazzaro, World
Paddling Since: 2020
I have a NRS barrel pump. It works great. It came with an extra o ring inside the pump so you could change it out if the ring broke. All you need is a phillups screw driver to swap out o rings. IDK know if carlson or dre does that if they don't, buy an extra o ring when you buy your pump and put it in the pump. O, the dark pvc pipe on the NRS showed sings of fading in 1 owyhee trip. I now make sure to keep it out of the sun. I have no experience with Carlson or dre but hear great things about them.

Bound is boatless man
dirtbagkayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013   #3
Park City, Utah
Paddling Since: 1982
We have a 6'' Blackrocks Dory Works (out of Pocatello) barrel pump we're very happy with the way it work. We've had it a while, but I think it was much cheaper than Carlson. We bought it from Walton Marine in SLC.
tmacc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013   #4
Paddling Since: 1994
Down River has a 4" and a 6". The Down River is made in house, gives local employees a job in the winter, has an extra O ring, is easy to service (though you wont need to for a long time) and lasts forever. I have one that was passed down to me, god only knows how old it is. Awesome pump. NRS is made in china. Carlsons are great pumps. I dont think you'll be unhappy with the Down River.
zach baird
zbaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013   #5
Winter Park, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1990
Another vote for DRE. Mine is over 6 years old and never missed a beat.
bigwatertoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013   #6
Evergreen, Colorado
NRS 5in Barrel Pump | plus 20% off
gwheyduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013   #7