Old 10-22-2009   #1
Conyers, Georgia
Paddling Since: 2009
H3 245 For a newbie?

I have been kayaking in my Inflatable for 8 months now and have recently exceeded the capabilities of my boat by far. Anyways I was looking for a good deal on a used creek boat and was wondering what would be a good option for me. I run mostly III's and IV's on a local creek and the chatooga, but would like to run some IV+/V creeks. I weigh 150, 5'9", and would like to have a little amount of stow room for overnighters if possible.

Looking at this would a pyranha h3 245 be a good boat for me?
I was also looking at jefes but I just came across a good deal on a h3

mrkeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009   #2
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003
Send a message via Yahoo to jeffy
Doesn't sound like a bad boat for you. Everyone here will say this first, "Demo, Demo, Demo"

jeffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009   #3
Conyers, Georgia
Paddling Since: 2009
Only problem with doing a demo is that Georgia (other than the Northeast Region) doesn't have much of a whitewater scene so I would have to drive 2.5+ hrs away to demo. Also don't really have the wallet to be picky, I have a strick
$400 budget and need a spray skirt along with a paddle included in that price.

Right now the h3 is sounding nice because it meets my price and comes with a pfd, helmet, paddle and a skirt.

Although in the long run, I don't want to wish I would have seen what other boats there were before I jumped on this.
mrkeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009   #4
The Road, Colorado
Paddling Since: '07
Send a message via Yahoo to Badazws6