Old 05-19-2009   #1
Bozeman, Montana
Paddling Since: 2001
Fun with Oars

First Post, so bear with me. I'm a few steps along in a new boat and the oar placement has me pondering. I got NRS oarstands and using the formula (which completely used up my algebra skills)with 3 inches of relief between the oars leaves me unable to get the blade in the water. Simple fix is to rotate the stands, right? Then the relief increases. So shorten the oars.... hmmm, now they dont get into the water, again. This is .

The oars are 8 1/2 foot on a 60 inch wide frame which I'm assured is adequate. The beginning question I think, is how to position the uprights. Or am I missing something incredibly obvious?

So, be gentle, its my first time. Thanks to all of you posting back and forth. I've learned a terrific amount just by listening in.

Rod H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009   #2
Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
Hi Rod,

I'm going through the same set-up question. I was told/saw/read somewhere that its good to shoot for 1/3 in, 2/3 outside the stands. So, at 102 inches (8.5 ft), that'd be about 34 in and 68 out. That seems pretty good for a 60 inch frame (give or take).
I've got a 72 inch wide frame, and am thinking 10 footers right now (40/80 inches in/out). I"ve tried 9ers, and was rowing all day with about 20 inches between the handles. Talk about sore shoulders!

What does education often do? It makes a straight-cut ditch of a free, meandering brook. HENRY DAVID THOREAU, Journal
thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009   #3
at my house, Montana
Paddling Since: 2020