Old 06-23-2011   #1
Western, North Carolina
Freshening up a Roberts Halkey valve?

Hey folks!

I'm completely new to rafting. I'm trying to take up a new water-based sport after moving inland (used to surf when I lived by the beach).

My friend talked me into picking up a used ducky to see if I like being on the river. Anyway, it has Roberts Halkey BV 690 valves, and one of them has an intermitant leak. If you turn the valve handle in just the right way, it holds air. Otherwise it hisses. So I'm guessing the gasket is getting old or there's some slop in there. Is there a method to cleaning/refurbishing them? I'd like to get out on the water this weekend, and mailordering a new one will take too long. I'm a very handy person, and I could probably rig a fix, but I'd love any advice that experienced people such as yourselves could provide.

hans747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011   #2
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978
Sounds like the valve stem may have gotten bent or warped or has a foreign body stuck on the rubber seal...