Old 09-12-2010   #1
Fishers, Indiana
Paddling Since: 2010
do i need a spray skirt?

Do i need to use a spray skirt for flatwaters? I just got my kayak and paddle, but don't have my skirt yet for another week. Would it be okay to just go out and paddle on flatwater?

bk282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010   #2
Jenks, Oklahoma
You must make your own decision on what is safe for you and what is not.

With the above in mind, as long as it truely is flat water (a lake is the best) getting used to paddling a kayak without a spray skirt seems to be a good option to me. main thing is you are getting out on the water before it gets really cold. Take a bud along with you just for additional safety.

okieboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010   #3
Fishers, Indiana
alright thanks okieboater! Haha you know how it is when you get something new you always wanna get out there and give it a try, but obviously I have no experience nor any business being out on any rapid right now until I take my lessons.
Old 09-12-2010   #4
Aurora, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Fishers? I'm from Noblesville and live in Denver! Small world!
No skirt on flat water is fine. You should expect to fall out of the boat if you flip, but that's normal anyway when you are beginning. Have you taken lessons? Where in the world do you plan on boating out there? Get out on the flat stuff and have some fun. When you are ready to start boating in current, you will definitely need a skirt, but practice your wet exit on flat water first. Taking a lesson will make your new hobby a lot more fun in the beginning. It's a steep learning curve and it will help you not get frustrated as much. How did you find out about kayaking in Fishers?

kclowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010   #5
Fishers, Indiana