Old 09-23-2014   #1
Vancouver, BC
Paddling Since: 2010
Differences between Werner paddles

I was looking to buy a Werner paddle. But I was having trouble finding the right one for me. I am pretty new to paddling and I paddle mostly class 3 with some class 3+ and 4. I am looking for a good all round paddle for river running and play boating. What would you recommend?

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

Kevin99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014   #2
don't bogart that
Frosted Flakes N of Baytuckey, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005

best advice I got was, buy a paddle that you can replace when you loose it learning.

rpludwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014   #3
Indian Hills, Colorado
^ Good advice for sure. The werner player bent shaft fiberglass is a great paddle. Spendy, but great. Plus, the orange blades are easy for your friends to spot when it's floating down the river without you.
DanOrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014   #4
Vancouver, BC
Ok thanks for the advice

Old 09-23-2014   #5
BV, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2011
Any Werner Fiberglass paddle would be my recommendation. The powerhouse has the biggest blade so you'll get the most power out of strokes. More blade area at the end for more power on vertical strokes. The sherpa is the same idea but a little bit smaller, so its better suited for smaller paddlers or people who want a faster cadence. Both of those are great river running paddles. The player has more area at the bottom of the blade and is better for more lateral strokes. I have used the player blade shape for my all around paddle for a few years and have had no problems.
tskoe23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014   #6
Keystone, Colorado