Old 09-10-2015   #1
raleigh, North Carolina
Dagger Mamba 8.1 size

I am new to kayaking and just purchased my first kayak a Mamba 8.1 based on reviews online and recommendations from the people at the store that is was a good beginner kayak. Had a couple questions first I am 5'10" 180 is the 8.1 too small? Based on Daggers website I am right in the middle of the paddler weight specs but see people posting on forums much lighter than me getting the 8.6. Next question is as I'm setting up my kayak how should my legs fit in the kayak I have the bulkhead as far forward as it will go how much leg room should I have. Thanks

ncbmx64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015   #2
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2011
I honestly would solicit the advice of the people at your shop when it comes to how you should be sitting and how you should fit. They might even have a book or two you could reference or purchase. You want to be balance center, knees secure, with the bulkhead resting under your feet to ensure a nice fit.

I think the boat is a good fit for you, creeker version or not. The people who have purchased the 8.6 might have got it for other reasons like volume, a good price, gear storage, or personal preference. I would say the mamba is a versatile choice for a new boater because it's easy to roll, has strong rails, and a flat planning hull.

Good luck.

Riko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015   #3
Roseburg, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2015
I paddle an 8.6 and Im 6 foot 155lb. Well below the recommended weight limit. Still paddles like a dream,rolls good.Plus the more volume the better. In my Mamba having my seat just a little forward worked best for me. Made the stern less squirty.
Poedunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015   #4
I am your size, basically. 5'11", 180 pounds and Mamba 8.1 has been my main creeker and river runner. I love the 8.1.