Old 10-25-2012   #1
Salt Lake City, Utah
Chaco - What should I get instead?

Well... Chaco has lost another customer.

- I'm pretty sure that I am just rehashing a story that you have all heard/ experienced yourself. Either way, I bought my first pair of chacos 7 or 8 years ago, and they worked (though the soles did eventually wear out) for 6 years. After a year of living chaco-less I decided to buy a new pair, despite hearing that their quality had gone downhill. First shipping took much longer than they said it would, and then I only wore them for 6 days before the sole came off from the shoe!
I spoke with customer service and explained that I worked as a raft guide and that I would need the replacements to come incredibly quickly. I was told that as soon as I put them in the mail I could send them a tracking number and the replacements would be sent. It still took the better part of two weeks to get them replaced. Fortunately this pair lasted an entire month before the sole delaminated.
I've called them now twice (since sending the newest ones back) and they can't seem to figure out what happened with the paperwork. Instead of getting another replacement I have asked that I get my money back.
Clearly, I am not the only one with this experience. Thoughts on what to replace them with? I really like the way that they fit, but I just can't deal with a company and product that has gone so downhill. I am looking for something, not just for the river, but also to wear around town (well, I guess the snow is falling right now so maybe I will not need them for another 6 months).

Websta' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012   #2
at my house, Montana
Paddling Since: 2020
Buy from zappos. I had a warranty issue on a pair of 5.10's and they sent me the replacements before i had to return the first ones.

I don't wear river sandals anymore, not enough protection and they're all junk anymore. Mesh shoes.