Old 08-23-2013   #1
Boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2012
Cart for IK and carabiners

If I go out alone with my Outfitter II looks like I will need a cart if the ground isn't suitable for dragging to and from water. Looks like people use them for portage, too. Recommendations for cart that works well with inflatable kayak?

Another issue -- why not use small carabiners connected to the end of my seat straps and clip the biners to the boat loops for real quick change? Why not use for anything that works with the loops? I'm a rookie but seems like at least a small advantage ...?

Taters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013   #2
Boise, Idaho
I know that the Outfitter II is under 50 lbs (not incl. supplies) but carrying very far seems so awkward. Maybe there is a trick to it? Otherwise, a well-designed collapsable cart seems so efficient, safe and civilized.

Old 08-24-2013   #3
aka The Curmudgeon
Hopelessly Stuck in Yesterday, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
There are lots of collapsible 2 wheel carts made for carrying canoes out there. They should all work just fine.

I think you'll find 'biners unsatisfactory as you'll end up with a little slack in your straps. Cam straps will become your good friends. Get extras, the river snakes tend to gobble them up. Paint the buckles with a color unique to you.
Don't Wanna Die Askin' for Another Chance
captishmael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013   #4
Derby, Connecticut
Paddling Since: 1975
I have on occasion done the hand truck thing, then lock the hand truck to a good sized tree, pump up my IK (or raft) then off I go - but I suppose come to think of it that only works for a round trip journey.
"Catch Me If You Can...."
Otterwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013   #5
Highland Ranch, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
NRS C-Tug Boat Cart with Kiwi Wheels

This cart is a little pricy but breaks down enough to fit inside the hull of my kayak.