Old 09-12-2012   #1
"Brown Ball!"
Missoula, Montana
Paddling Since: 2010
Best Dry top and Spray Skirt

I have been yaking a Jackson for 2 years, just got the roll and it is now time to invest in some cold weather gear. I was wondering what the best reasonable dry top is for a lady such as myself and if a Lucky Charm spray skirt from Immersion is worth 90 dolla. Also do I splurge for the IRS Neoprene waterproof gloves?
Thank for your friendly advice in advance.

PhatKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012   #2
Grand Junction, Colorado
Well is depends on how cold your talking NRS makes well priced tops if you want the best go kokatat. IR makes fine skirts. if your in winter weather id save up for a drysuit period also gloves are alright but id get pogies first, gloves tend to make it so you have to grab the paddle with more clinch and when they get wet the evaporative cooling is terrible and it will make you trip miserible the pogies give you contact to your paddle while keeping your hands free from wind chill and keep your hands nice and toasty even if u get water in them one of my favorite pieces of gear Hot Hands Pogie - Snap Dragon

Ive gone threw alot of gloves before i tried pogies and hands down gloves suck in my opinion try them you wont be disappointed. my 2cents

flipper42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012   #3
behind your mom, Colorado
My sweet drytop is awesome and a lot cheaper than the rogue. Big fan of the special K sprayskirt too. A lot more dry then my bomber.
streetdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012   #4
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Kokotat Gore-tex with the Mountain Surf Dur-O-Ring (can't get it anymore). Totally bone dry. I second the pogies for overall warmth, but I like the dexterity you get from a "good" pair of gloves. I have definitely tried more gloves that I dislike then like, but these are the best I have used: NRS Reactor Rescue Gloves at

$90 for a Lucky Charm is a pretty good price.