Beginner Rescue Equipment - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-28-2016   #1

Portland, Oregon
Beginner Rescue Equipment

I am new to kayking and mainly stay in the Class 2-3 world. We don't do anything crazy. However, since we are new we have quite a few swimmers in our group. I have found it difficult (because I'm not a great paddler) to rescue a kayak and get it over to the shore and back to the owner.

I'm wondering if there is some gear out there you can recommend to help me possibly "tow" the boat to the shore. Some version of a carabiner system perhaps?

Thanks.

ajtucker2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016   #2

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Best advice is to take a swift water class to get the base knowledge of how to safely use gear. Most rescue vests have a tow/tether system on them but need to be used correctly. You can also get a straight up tow tether or rope combo:

https://salamanderpaddlegear.com/shop/tow-lines

If you get a rope you need a knife, but half the fun is buying gear. Couple good threads on here of towing a boat going wrong, clipping into a water filled boat is not to be taken lightly.
kayakfreakus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016   #3

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
Send a message via AIM to craven_morhead
Yeah, I used a bungee tether a fair amount doing class III club boating. But be very mindful of when to clip into a boat. It's an easy way to make yourself a victim. Since moving to Class IV-V water I've stopped even wearing my tether since it's so rare I find myself in a rapid where I'm comfortable using it.
craven_morhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016   #4
Don

Preacher of the Profit Paddling Since: 1990
Safety

1) Buy a good whistle and learn whistle commands.
2) Buy a good river knife.
3) Buy a throw rope at least 50' and practice throwing and packing it.
4) Take a SWR Class (Swiftwater)