Old 08-30-2011   #1
bum, Ohio
Paddling Since: 2006
6'7" paddle length? 200cm feels short

I am about 6'7" and long arms. I have a 200cm Sawyer Diamondback that I use with a Super Hero but paddle feels a little short. I am fairly new to whitewater sit in kayaks so it could be me. I use a 220cm with Liquid Logic Coupe and that feels nice with Coupe but way too long with Super Fun or Super Hero. I am thinking a 204cm may be a good length? Any other taller boaters out there what length feels good?

Grizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011   #2
I'm 6'8" and have been trying to solve this issue as well. I just ordered a 203 AT, its a spendy gamble. Haven't paddled it yet, but hopefully that will work. My 200 seemed a bit short, so hopefully that will do the job. I talked to sawyer and they can make custom to longer paddles as well. Good luck, after I use my new paddle I will try and let you know the outcome.

brokenpaddlejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011   #3
welch, Oklahoma
Paddling Since: 1976
Hay guys
I am 6'4" and I like the bigger paddle I had one made by" Pot hole paddles " and it is one of the best made wooden paddles I have ever seen Just do a search onand you will see his site . he is like 70ish and hand makes the paddles
Good luck
ranchman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011   #4
Vail, Colorado
Im not sure about Saywers prices for a custom paddle. However I do know that Werner can custom make a paddle for you for no additional charge. Build time takes only a week too. Options are endless, If you wanted you could get a 230cm 4 Piece breakdown with a 55 degree offest and lefthand control
elcaposwimteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011   #5
Riverdale, Utah
Paddling Since: 1977
Hi Grizz-