Old 08-01-2015   #1
El Dorado Hills, California
Paddling Since: 2006
2015 Jackson Zen v. Dagger Mamba

Hi, I am relatively new to kayaking and am looking to purchase a river runner. The Jackson Zen and Dagger Mamba have caught my attention. Which boat would better suit a beginner and be able progress to harder water with best? Or are there any other great river runners that would be a better option?

EHowKayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015   #2
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1982
You cant go wrong with the Mamba. I have been boating with it since 2005 and I really love the new version. The mamba is easy to roll and stable for a beginner and it also can run the big stuff later on. I have never paddled a zen so cant really comment on that boat.

A hole so big, it sucked the leaves off the tree.
DesertRatonIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015   #3
Sumas, Chilliwack, BC
Paddling Since: 2012
I have had both, the zen rolls easier. Outfitting is easier to setup and is a faster boat all around. I liked the old zen as well but the new one is way better. Plus it is a bit lighter than the creek version mamba.

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz
Dman987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015   #4
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003

tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015   #5
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1986
I have spent a bit of time in both boats. Here are my thoughts. I am 5' 11" and 150 lbs for reference.