Old 03-20-2016   #1
salt lake city, Utah
Paddling Since: 1974
smith river

SO! I got a Smith river permit for late August What are the chances of running it? I have canoes, kayaks a small raft, dory.... how many cfs do ya need?

stevo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016   #2
Wondervu, CO, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
I have no experience with Smith CA, so assuming you mean Smith River MT...

Things will vary based on the snow pack each year and March/April can make up as much 60% of the annual total. I't too early to predict the flows for this year but things look near average.

I have made three trips in a drift boat, all in early June. For all three of them I couldn't have taken the drift boat we launched a week later. When it drops it drops fast. Usually by July it's too skinny for a big raft, there are many cobble strainers and sand bars you will need to drag the boat over. You will want a boat you can lift and carry for 30 yards or so.

For an August trip I would plan to pack extra light and take only canoes and kayaks. And I would only take a boat I was comfortable dragging over rocks.

The Montana State website for the Smith River has recommended minimum flows for raft, drift boat and canoe. My experience supports thier numbers.

kengore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016   #3
Bozeman, Montana
Paddling Since: 1979
August Smith River

Typically late August flows on the Smith are quite low (maybe 100 cfs or so) and it is tough getting down the river. For years the web site has recommended around 300 cfs for a raft and 150 cfs for a canoe but you can get down the river with less water than that. I did a canoe trip in mid September one year and we had to get out and walk & drag the canoes across a number of spots but it was a great traffic, great fishing, great weather. Here is a link the Smith River guage:

USGS Current Conditions for USGS 06077200 Smith River bl Eagle Cr nr Fort Logan MT
bgarnick is offline   Reply With Quote