Old 07-08-2009   #1

Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008
Question about Holes

This is my first year on the poudre/real whitewater. I started boating last summer and have really gotten into this year. After about 75 trips on the filter plant I went up and did the lower mish section. Many times I had no problems and a TON of fun, but recently I ended up in Horseshoe hole and had a miserable experience to say the least.

First, I am wondering how the hole compares at recent water levels to say 3 feet or 2.5 feet? Second, I wonder how horseshoe hole compares to other holes on the poudre and other rivers? I have asked my friends and the response seems to be "it's nasty", but I would like to hear what other people have to say. Rapids, waves, etc.. do not scare me anywhere near as much as big holes after I ended up stuck in Horseshoe. For now (till the water goes down) I'll stick to the unexciting filter plant but I hope there is a water level that is more beginner safe on the upper section as I have quickly become a whitewater addict (but I also do not want to add to the misfortune that has plagued CO rivers this year).

Any advice for a beginner would be very welcome, especially how people approach and deal with holes. I also am looking for advice on other, good for beginner, sections of river.

esingleton56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009   #2

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I thought this thread was pretty good:

Scouting/Reading Holes

I think Horseshoe is a pretty sticky hole, so I have to agree with your friends ratings. Dodging/Punching/Boofing holes is a pretty necessary skill on the river so as you progress you get to experience more and come up with several ways of trying to deal with it.

Deckers would be a good section if your comfortable on the filter plant, also the Upper C.

kayakfreakus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009   #3

Thornton, Colorado