Old 06-08-2005   #1
Am I too big to Kayak?

I have just recently started going to roll sessions in a local pool but have had a hard time finding boats that are even halfway comfortable. I am 6'2", 190lbs, with size 13 feet. I consider myself somewhat of an average sized guy and assume that there are lots of kayaks out there that I can get into. I just don't know what to look for. I am a beginner so I don't really even know what type of boat I want. I am interested in river running on whitewater and possibly just kind of playing around on the surf. So far I have gotten into a Perception Overflow (It hurt my feet) and a dagger RPM (this wasn't bad) If anyone can give me any suggestions or any ideas of where to pick up a used kayak, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

steinsato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005   #2
there's a couple RPM's in the classified on this site.

mescalimick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005   #3
Snowmass, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1983
Try a Honcho, if you can find one; I have a couple of friends that are bigger than you and fit in it fine. The boat is more modern than the RPM, but by no means cutting edge. It will be a fine river runner and will offer more play options as well.
"A witty saying proves nothing."
- Voltaire (1694-1778)
earthNRG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005   #4
If you can find a Honcho grab it. I paddle one @ 5'10 240 sz 11 I still have lots of room seat in the middle and 6'' of foam in the front. It's a little to big for me but I got a belly it runs rivers and surfs like a Dream.
It is a little tippy but that made me learn that much faster the stern is kinda slicey.

Look on the gear swap site at all around boats.
Most creek boats will fit you but they are kind of limited to steeper creeks.

Other boats
Dagger GT 8.1, Mamba
Perception Blaze (the big one) kind of like the Honcho
Wavesport Super/Big EZ, Desiel