Old 03-01-2010   #1
Frisco, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Send a message via AIM to troutslayer
Westwater Spring break 23rd-25th

Hello all, this is my first time going to Westwater. I am not the best oars man in the world but I am no rookie, more like a strong intermediate rower. Is there anything special i need to know about this stretch of water? Is it any thing like the royal gorge as that is one of my favorite stretches of river to row? What can I expect the flows to be this last week of march? Any imput will be great. Thanks and happy rowing.

troutslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010   #2
x, x
Paddling Since: x
WW Status

all pool drop. scull hole will flip a raft. sock it to me has as well 3k-5k optimal play good dynamics no real threats, dont want to swim though. wave trains mostly then scull

bobbuilds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010   #3
Evergreen, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003
Do a virtual scout of skull from you tube there are some good videos. Check out USGS real time water data to get the flows, you can get monthly averages from the last twenty years to get some idea of the flow.
Stiff N' Wett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010   #4
Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Won't be in the Terrible Teens. Right to left move at skull, good idea to watch the videos. Be sure look into The Room of Doom...look not go
MustacheTheGauley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010   #5
Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1974
If you've run the gorge you should be fine. Most rapids can be scouted as you approach and most are run down the center with a big puch at the big rapid except for skull. Scouting skull is a good idea for the 1st time. The best way to run it is as stated by Pir8 Jim. Right to left. When you stop to scout this makes that move very hard but at the lower water level you should be able to make it. Have lots of momentum to break the current just above the first big wave.
toddj is offline   Reply With Quote